Day 15: Goat Tikka Masala

Goat? You’ve got to be kidding me (see what I did there…)

I thought it was time to challenge myself in a way I haven’t so far in the 30 days of May: a new type of meat.

We have two types of Indian cooks in our home. Husband has packets and packets of spices, herbs and pods, all to be crushed with a mortar and pestle to make aromatic pastes. I, on the other hand, enjoy using pre made curry base as a base for my dishes. It is undeniable that Husband’s curries are so delicious, but sometimes there’s not time to craft the perfect blend, so curry pastes make a quick and easy alternative….and Patak’s will even give you the recipe on the label of the jar.

This is my first foray into cooking goat, so fingers crossed!

Goat Tikka Masala

Ingredients

olive oil

3 onions, roughly chopped

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1.5 kg diced goat meat (shoulder or leg is a good cut)

3-4 tbsp Patak’s Tikka Masala paste

4 potatoes, skins on and quartered

2 x 400g tinned tomatoes

1 x tin coconut milk

Method

1. Turn the slow cooker onto low and splash a generous amount of olive oil in the bottom. Add the onion, garlic and curry paste and allow to sweat.

SONY DSC

2. Add the diced potatoes and lamb pieces and coat with the curry paste.

3. Add tins of tomatoes and coconut milk until all of the ingredients are covered with liquid (I used a bit more than one tin of coconut milk as I had some left over, but you can add water if more liquid is required.

SONY DSC

4. Cook curry in slow cooker for 8 hours until the goat is tender. If the curry is too soupy remove some excess liquid and reduce in a pan before adding back into slow cooker.) Serve with steamed rice or naan bread.

IMG_1187

Verdict: I couldn’t believe how well this one turned out! You’ll love how the goat is melt in your mouth delicious and the tomato sauce has that hint of spice.  It even encouraged 2 of my friends to try this recipe, despite never having had goat before, so it must be a winner!This curry isn’t particularly spicy, but you could certainly add some fresh chillies if you’d like to pack a bit more punch.

2 weeks into the 30 days of May and things are getting hectic, but it’s been so much fun cooking new things and having plenty of taste test volunteers!

Coming up this week: an exploration into the vegetarian world, a surprise trip to Morocco and what to bring to a housewarming when you’re told to bring nothing at all (and no, I’m not talking about miniature chocolates!)

Happy eating!

-Sarah

30 days of may

Leave a comment